Beginning of Adventure April

A little over a year ago, I started this blog because I was beginning a new phase of life–a new outlook on my life–through no choice of my own. That decision was the best of my life because I discovered that there is something in life I enjoy doing–writing.

I’ve decided it’s time to put some freshness back into my life. Grad school really takes it out of you. Thankfully I have a long-distance friend who came up with the brilliant idea of “Adventure April.” This month we are making a conscious effort to try something new every day, to step out of our comfort zones, and to seek to be a blessing to other people.

Day one–I slacked. All my classes were cancelled; I was strangely motivated to work extra hard on projects. And I did. But I did have a personal costume day. I dressed up like Sadness from Inside Out. Sadly (haha), no one saw me, but I knew what I was doing. And it was worth it.IMG_2970

Day two–I spent most of today locked up in a community theatre in Greer. Not bad–just stuffy. But I felt this immense sense of freedom because I . . . had my own set of wheels all day long! IMG_2977My family went to visit relatives, and I couldn’t go because I committed to doing hair for a theatre production (that was a new experience in itself). I don’t have my own car, and I’ve never driven any place new by myself. Today I did. I treated myself to a coconut dream smoothie at GNC, something I’ve been desiring to try for a year, and then drove half an hour away to the theatre space without my GPS.
I only got lost once and only drove illegally once. (Is it illegal to drive in reverse on a major road if no one is behind you?) After spending all day today outside my comfort zone, I am looking forward to a well-deserved candlelight bubble bath tomorrow.

One thought on “Beginning of Adventure April

Leave a Reply

