Beginnings

Today is only the

beginning. Today

you unpacked boxes of breakables

and glass; inside your grandparents’ china,

you found  my shirt. Yesterday

we exchanged goodbyes over chocolate frozen

yogurt and whipping cream. Last week

I reminded you of that boy who traded me for a Spanish-

speaking girl–glued together and even tied

up with a big red bow. A month ago

you sang of evergreens before Christmas, and

I counted the petals on daisies. Six months ago

I confessed to my roommate that I was terrified of

becoming more than your friend. Not a year ago

we met over phony engagement photos

and glass diamond rings. I knew

then. I knew it was only the

beginning.

Leave a Reply

