I’m Alive!

This weekend was definitely a time of celebrating life. IMG_2151On Saturday my roommates and I explored Traveler’s Rest. IMG_2150Although tiny, the town has several cute culinary pleasures as well as some intriguing boutiques. And since the town is tiny, we hit every single one in one afternoon. We began our excursion in the Forest café where I bought the Snow Leopard coffee. IMG_2152It was light and airy, with traces of almond and macadamia nut. However, the morning caffeine did not prevent me from taking an hour-and-a-half nap and making the mazagran from Portugal later in the day. Unfortunately, lemon juice and coffee do not mix well, and I could not finish drinking it.

IMG_2154After visiting the Forest, we planted ourselves in Tandem Creperie and shared the Grazing Goat crepe—goat cheese, blueberry compote, and lettuce.IMG_2153 With our tummies happy, we began our walk around Traveler’s Rest. We mostly frequented the boutiques, but we also entered two antique shops, a vintage-clothing thrift store, and a bookstore. We had no success in the antique stores, but we did purchase items in the boutiques: jewelry, sunglasses, scarves, and a sweater. Around 2:00 we had finally exhausted every boutique in TR, and our tummies were ready for some Sidewall potato pizza. IMG_2156This pizza melts in your mouth and is light enough that your stomach can be persuaded to eat more than two slices. But we wanted to indulge in dessert as well and headed to Mama’s Ice Cream on the way to the car. Cappuccino crunch in a waffle cone tasted too good for words and miraculously did not drip in Julie’s car or get all over my skinny jeans. Then we returned home where I immediately crashed in my bed only to wake up three hours later, still in great need of coffee.

I ended my wondrous adventure day by watching a movie about a spunky girl who dies of colon cancer. Needless to say, I went to bed Saturday night fully aware of my many health problems but beyond grateful to be alive.

I woke up Sunday morning to the painful realization that there was a bug flying inside my ear. I spent the morning trying to flush it out with hydrogen peroxide and warm water without success. At least I know it’s dead now. After emerging from my bedroom at 2:00, I knew that coffee was a must. I buckled down to enjoy the sweet treat of the Eiskaffee, complete with ice cream, whipped topping, and chocolate chips.IMG_2157

Last night was the last evening with Patricia. (She’s finally named.) I was in a bizarre “clean the entire kitchen” mood. Granted, the kitchen isn’t that big, but I thoroughly cleaned every part (except the microwave—that’s what tonight is for). We interrupted the cleaning with a pleasant walk through Holmes Park and then rewarded our efforts by sipping wiener mélange in elegant European teacups. Egg yolk never tasted so good.IMG_2160

This morning I woke up at 5:30 to say goodbye to Patricia who is beginning a new life as a wife on the continent where I fell in love. I missed her departure by about two minutes. Other than that, today was an ordinary day—complete with my thermos of coffee, black tea, and condensed milk.

Isn’t it wonderful to be alive?

Leave a Reply

