Coffee and Communication

Not every day is the same, but there are small things every day that I look forward to. That extra half-hour in bed after my alarm goes off. The first sip of strong, smooth coffee. The eclectic cheerfulness of my work space. The strength I feel after finishing a workout. The release of tension when I take a shower before bed. The cozy nest of my covers and pillow. The occasional word or image that enters my head and flutters around until transformed into a butterfly. These are the “knows” that propel me to float through my days. How simple it is when one knows nothing—or chooses to forget sorrow, pain, anger, heartbreak. After all, it is a choice.

It is also a choice to live a life that is unselfish, loving, and generous. I hope that I would choose to live this way more often than not.

As I have grown up, I have come to believe (and quite strongly) that the best ways to show love are not through grandiose displays of affection. I’m not a huggy person. I don’t say “I love you” to people outside my family. But a walk through the park, a museum exploration, or a coffee downtown are my ways to say I love you.FullSizeRender

As I’ve said before, I fell in love with the European culture. I fell in love with the discovery of a different way of life. The way the people talked, the way they walked, the way they ate, the way they dressed. And, of course, the way they drank coffee. A wave of inspiration hit me as I contemplated my three great loves in life: culture, coffee, and communication. Why not enjoy all three at once?

And so begins my next journey: to experience a cup of coffee each day from another culture’s point of view and communicate the moment with the world. I would like such small and regular things.

FFullSizeRender (1)or the first few coffee moments, I will stay in the United States. But, at least yesterday, I enjoyed my cafe breve while visiting with a friend who goes way back to my high-school days. She is looking forward to finally becoming a citizen of the United States. She came to America for school when she was in seventh grade. My parents basically adopted her as their own daughter. She became like a big sister to me. When my mom went to the hospital to have my baby brother, Jacoby, Ye Jin stayed up all night with Heather and me. She left to go to college at Bob Jones University, and Danny came to work with Heather and me at Camp Waklo. Our friendship really began when he nicknamed us Heather Egor and Kaitlyn Leviathon. Ye Jin and Danny met one summer while she was working on her green card. Soon they were married. They spent a few years in Korea where Ye Jin is from, but now they live in North Carolina and have two beautiful children.

What a wonderful way to spend a cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

