If You’re Happy and You Know It–Smile!

Wednesday was one of those days. The alarm went off at 5:50, and I wanted to throw it out my fourth-story window. After running for a half-hour, I wanted nothing more than to go back to bed and sleep for the rest of summer. But I had to be at work at 8:00. While at work I had to constantly remind myself of what I had to do next. Okay, Kaitlyn. Walk across the room to the proofreading bins. Pick up your history proof. Walk back to your desk. You can do it. One step at a time. I had to remind myself to eat lunch at 2:30. When I got back home after work, for absolutely no reason at all, I felt as though I had just lived through a nine-hour bashing session where everyone in the world was criticizing me. Feeling like giving up and being a loser all night, I put on my comfy sweat pants, locked my bedroom door, and watched a movie. My only justification is that I worked on mending the whole time. I woke up Thursday morning not feeling much better. I felt that as soon as I opened my bedroom door, I would be hit with a gust of “You’re stupid because I’m better than you” ill winds. So I decided to put on my smiley jacket.

I must admit: I stole this idea from one of my apartment mates. Today I will share with you what happened that gave me reasons to smile.

  1. I woke up at 7:00. That in itself is a reason to rejoice.
  2. I looked in the mirror and saw my new haircut. I don’t relish looking like a boy, but I don’t have to do anything to my hair at all. I feel athletic and tomboyish—two things I am not that I have always wanted to be.
  3. My apartment mate made breakfast sandwiches with salami—my favorite lunchmeat.
  4. Coffee always makes me smile but even more so when I use steamed milk.
  5. I had a half-hour meeting in which the only decision made was to ask someone else to make the decision.
  6. During this meeting, I kept thinking about Jack Sparrow running around on a deserted island yelling, “Why is the ‘ROM’ gone?” (as in CD-ROM).
  7. I found out that I get to go to Columbia, South Carolina, with my family (and new puppy) for the Fourth of July weekend! It will be the first Fourth of July spent with my family in five years.
  8. I got a York peppermint patty for finishing a Teacher’s Edition chapter—the perfect dessert for after lunch.
  9. My coworker came back from lunch and told me that she was hoping all throughout lunch for something funny to happen just so that she could come back and tell me about it. I felt loved.
  10. My boss came to tell to my pod workers that he was glad none of us were in the women’s bathroom. He can hear all that happens in both the men’s and women’s bathrooms from his office. I don’t know what the conversation going on in the women’s restroom was, but I’m glad I wasn’t a part of it!
  11. At 2:00 I drank a Starbucks mocha frappuccino.
  12. At 3:00 I took a walk with my coworker and talked about Sandra Bullock. Who can be unhappy when talking about her?
  13. When I came back from my walk in the BEAUTIFUL sunshine, I had an email waiting for me from another coworker. She suggested that we fill the bathroom air freshener with bubbles. I approve this message.
  14. I finally got to mail my lime-green-colored present to my best friend who lives in Illinois.Katie's gift
  15. When I got home, my apartment mate had supper ready.
  16. My other apartment mate had noticed that I had had a bad day, and she gave me a present to cheer me up—a beautiful box of Paris labels, too beautiful to use.present
  17. My apartment mate needed to use the car so I got a rest from aerobics, although I did do 30 sit ups, 25 crunches, and 60 squats, plus 5 minutes of planks.
  18. I created a concoction of yogurt, peanut butter, and chocolate-chip cookie dough. (It tasted good, but I didn’t want to ruin the “workout” so I may or may not have dumped it out my fourth-story window.
  19. I drank hot tea while watching Kate Winslet being brilliant.
  20. I got into my bed early and watched blooper reels till I fell asleep.
  21. I dreamed the same dream twice. The first time, my music leader was trying to kill me. But then we became friends. The second time, I thought I knew how my dream would end so I invited him inside. But we did not become friends. In fact, I ended up running for my life. I don’t remember how it ended. But my dreams always make me smile, no matter how bad they are.

And now with my tall thermos of extremely strong coffee (I made the coffee today—always and adventure), I am ready to face Friday. And I have a Sandra Bullock movie waiting for me at home tonight.it's me as a baby

And…that’s me as a baby. I haven’t changed much.

Leave a Reply

