Conversations That Make Me Smile

Many things in life become beautiful when we look at them. The opposite is also true. Sometimes the more you look at something, the uglier it becomes. I look at communication all day long at my job. I sift through words to make sure meanings are clear. I research facts to make sure information is true. I negotiate and discuss preferences with authors and artists in order to help produce a “best” textbook. I often forget the beauty of this process when I’m buried in it for nine hours a day. But every once in awhile, I rediscover the magic of conversation and the paths it takes us on as we use it. Welcome to my afternoon tea-time discussion:

FAITH

Kendra, are you going to give blood?

KENDRA

I don’t think so. Why don’t you give blood? You’re the oldest.

FAITH

No, I’m not. Jewel is.

KENDRA

Then I think the youngest should represent the pod in giving blood. Don’t you think so, Kaitlyn?

KAITLYN

What do I think?

KENDRA

That you should give blood.

KAITLYN

No, I don’t think I should give blood.

KENDRA

Oh, Kaitlyn. Why not?

FAITH

You could save three lives.

KAITLYN

No, I couldn’t. I have bad blood.

KENDRA

Why? What kind do you have?

KAITLYN

I don’t know.

KENDRA

Then how do you know it’s bad?

KAITLYN

Because I took advanced biology once upon a time, and I vaguely remember that I had bad blood but that I could receive any blood I wanted.

FAITH

I remember something like that too. Hold on. I’m going to look up what the good blood is. I’m type A so I know I have good blood. Oh wait. This says that type O is the best blood.

KAITLYN

Shoot. That’s the blood I have. So I guess I have the best blood after all.

KENDRA

How do you know?

KAITLYN

Because I’m type O.

KENDRA

But are you positive?

KAITLYN

Yeah.

KENDRA

How do you know?

KAITLYN

Because I learned this in advanced biology.

FAITH

Oh. But this says that you can’t accept any blood.

KAITLYN

Oh, great. See that’s why I shouldn’t give away any of my blood. I might need it.

JEWEL

I think it’s actually type A blood that has problems.

KENDRA

How do you know?

JEWEL

Because I have type A blood, and when I was pregnant, I had to be given a shot to protect the baby from dying from a mix-up of blood types.

FAITH

Really? Because I’m type A.

JEWEL

The doctors take care of it for you. So you don’t need to worry about it. Just make sure they know you’re blood type A when you’re expecting.

KENDRA

Kaitlyn, are you okay?

JEWEL

Yeah, please don’t pass out.

KAITLYN

Don’t mind me. I’ll be fine.

KENDRA

Yeah, please don’t cry over there.

KAITLYN

I won’t cry today. I cried yesterday.

FAITH

You cried yesterday?

KAITLYN

Yeah. I was reading about JFK’s assassination. It just never occurred to me that his wife was right there in the car next to him when he was shot. And he was so young.

KENDRA

Well there are other things about him that probably made it easier for her to deal with.

FAITH

I watched this great documentary on them last year. I think it was called “The Kennedys.” But I’m not sure. There are several good ones out there.

KENDRA

He had an affair with Marilyn Monroe.

FAITH

Well, I think it glossed over that part. It was trying to show him in a good light.

KAITLYN

He had an affair with Marilyn Monroe?

KENDRA

Oh yeah. Marilyn was Jackie’s best friend.

KAITLYN

How could he do that?

KENDRA

I know.

KAITLYN

No. I mean Jackie was so beautiful!

KENDRA

I know.

FAITH

Well, like I said, if you want to know the good things about JFK, you should watch the documentary about his life.

KENDRA

They say that when he was shot, his brain exploded out of the back of his head into the back seat of the car. And people say that Jackie instinctively reached back to grab something immediately after he was shot. I’ve always wondered if she was reaching back for his brain.

FAITH

Oh my. Well, on that note, does anyone want to go give blood? I’m not going.

3 thoughts on “Conversations That Make Me Smile

  1. If I remember correctly O negative can give blood to anyone but can only accept from O negative. Supposedly some banks pay extra for you O. I remember my uncle commenting that he would give blood more often if he had that kind. Every year someone brings up Jackie reaching for JFK ‘s brain of course none of them ever had their spouse assassinated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

