Sometimes a Light Surprises

Somebody wise once told me that most of life is spent waiting. Waiting for high school prom. Waiting for your braces to come off. Waiting for your first car. Waiting for college graduation. Waiting for your first raise. Waiting to start dating. Waiting to get married. Waiting to have kids. Waiting for a diagnosis. Waiting for the next big thing. Waiting for what you think will make you happy. I’d rather be happy in the waiting.

People don’t chronicle waiting unless the ending is good. That’s why humans love books and movies. These stories have a definite beginning, middle, and end. Even if the ending is sad, at least it ended. But real life doesn’t work like that. I was born on September 18, 1991; that was my first beginning. I was born again when I was sixteen. College was a new beginning. My first job was a beginning. I’m going through a rebirth right now. Some beginnings in life have endings. I finished college. My first job will be ending in August. Someday my current discoveries will be old hat. But while you’re in the moment, you feel like the moment will never end. You feel like nothing is actually happening. You feel stuck.

But sometimes in the middle of the waiting, God surprises you. Last week I mentioned that I will be going back to school in the fall. I’ve wanted to further my education for the last two years and had practically given up hope. God not only made it possible, but He also blessed me with the part-time job of my dreams. This past Friday I was humbled and honored. God reminded me that He rewards faithfulness in little things, even if they seem unimportant or unnoticed. Yesterday, what was just meant to be a hang-out day with my good friend, became a brainstorming session for our next art project.

Waiting doesn’t have to be waiting. We were all made in the image of God. He made us to be creative. My teachers in college encouraged us to create opportunities for ourselves. I have definitely tried and failed many times. But I’m not going to give up. I cannot be idle. I cannot not create. God made me to sing, and I have to do it. But I’m not so concerned with my own voice anymore. I want the voices of others to be heard. And that is my  new project. I am hoping that my new project will come to fruition by the end of April. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

