Conversing Emotionally

I think my least favorite part of Valentine’s Day has always been the conversation hearts. They don’t taste good, and they mean absolutely nothing. So I decided that while eating the (actually quite good) sour conversation hearts at work today, I would create a highly mathematical scene out of the words on the conversation hearts. The result:

GIRL

Maybe.

BOY

I–

GIRL

Maybe.

BOY

You’ll think?

GIRL

Yes. I’ll think.

BOY

Okay.

GIRL

Love you.

BOY

I know you do. I love you too.

GIRL

I know you do.

BOY

I love you. I don’t think you understand, really.

GIRL

Yes, I do.

BOY

No, you don’t. Prove it. Kiss me.

GIRL

Kiss you?

BOY

Yeah.

GIRL

Do I have to?

BOY

Fine. Hug me.

GIRL

What?

BOY

You heard me.

GIRL

I know I did.

BOY

So hug me.

GIRL

Why do you want me to hug you? You know I love you.

BOY

Do I know that?

GIRL

What do you mean?

BOY

You seem distant.

GIRL

Maybe I am.

BOY

But why?

GIRL

Maybe because I am scared.

BOY

Of what?

GIRL

Of getting hurt.

BOY

I love you!

GIRL

But how do I know you won’t change your mind?

BOY

Because I–

GIRL

love you?

BOY

Come on, don’t you trust me?

GIRL

I do. But you don’t know the future.

BOY

Hug me.

GIRL

Why do you want me to hug you so bad? Do you have cold feet?

BOY

Kiss me.

GIRL

Answer my question. Don’t you think we’re rushing things? We’ve only been dating for three months, right?

BOY

Yes.

GIRL

So why do you think we’re ready for this kind of commitment?

BOY

No matter what I’m here.

GIRL

Love you. I really do. I just get so scared sometimes that I’ll wake up from this dream without you.

BOY

Yes. I understand.

GIRL

You do?

BOY

Of course I do. And I want to face this world with you through life.

GIRL

Kiss me.

BOY

What?

GIRL

You heard me.

BOY

You’re sure?

GIRL

Of course I’m sure. Don’t be silly. I’m going to marry you, aren’t I?

BOY

I love you.

GIRL

I just want you to promise me one thing.

BOY

What’s that?

GIRL

That if I die you will marry somebody else. To clean.

BOY

Cutie.

GIRL

I’m serious. I don’t want you to spend your life alone.

BOY

But you’re not dead.

GIRL

I know I’m not dead but still.

BOY

I love you.

GIRL

Will you promise me? Swear on my life.

BOY

I don’t want to swear on your life.

GIRL

Swear on your life then.

BOY

Okay, I swear. Cutie.

…And scene!

Leave a Reply

